I Derryth

Rowan Derryth's Virtual Adventures

Closure and Distance

It was initially only supposed to be open a couple months, but due initially to it’s success, and then simply filling what became a rather large gap until the next LEA-curated project, A Rusted Development has enjoyed a rather long run – well over a year. Alas, all good things come to an end, and it will finally close today. We’ll have a little party from 4-6pm with one of my old friends, Sredni Eel, spinning delicious tunes.

a_rusted_development_poster(draft3)

Curating this exhibit was definitely the best thing I’ve done in Second Life. It was an absolute joy to work with these talented artists, and wonderful fun to created the catalogue with my partner-in-crime PJ Trenton (as ever). But one of the most enjoyable and unexpected aspects of this installation was the continued creativity it inspired, from the many pictures of it on flickr, to fantastic machinima such as the one made by Chic Aeon. Most recently, it was one of the settings Linden Lab CEO Rod Humble wandered through on his interview with Draxter Despres on the Drax Files (it’s at about the 1 minute mark):

Because I hope to have more wonderful experiences like this, I’ve decided that the closing of A Rusted Development will coincide with my departure from the LEA Advisory Committee. I’ve pulled back from the LEA increasingly, mostly due to my limited in-world time these days. At this point, I feel like my energy and experience will be put to better use on other projects, and I want to get back to spending my time thinking about, writing about, and curating (when I can) virtual art. With any luck, that will mean an increase of posts here, my poor little dusty blog.

In any case, I do hope people will come and enjoy the last moments of A Rusted Development before it slips under the waves for the very last time. Drop in here: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/LEA1/196/74/24

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2013 by in Art, LEA, Virtual Art.

My Gallery in SL

RoHaus Art Collection, Avalon

Click for slurl

