I Derryth

Rowan Derryth's Virtual Adventures

A Further Development

A Rusted Curator. Photo by PJ Trenton.

This has been a very strange few weeks for me, in terms of SL Art. I have experienced both my greatest triumph, and possibly my greatest failure, in virtual existence.

Bad news first: last night I resigned from the LEA. I had been an advisor since about February, and was voted onto the Board about a month ago. I’d like to say my resignation was a difficult decision, but it wasn’t. I had questioned from the start whether it was a good fit for me – even hesitating to accept the Board nomination – and recent events make it clear that it was not a good fit. I had hoped I could help that group, but I cannot. That is all I have to say about that for the moment, except that I am extremely relieved and pleased to be able to return my focus to what I think I do best – writing about art. And I am happy to have the chance to work with some of those members I’ve called friends, and make a couple new friends too, and look forward to supporting their efforts from the outside, where I feel much more comfortable.

Now, the good news. A Rusted Development is a huge success! I have had the kindest compliments from friends and strangers, but I must say that this isn’t down to me, but the artists. As I said in my earlier post, Haveit took my idea and ran with it in ways I never could, and everyone else came on board with vision and generosity of spirit that made the whole work a complete success.

Rusted Artists Rose Borchovski, PJ Trenton, Blue Tsuki, and Haveit Neox

We opened on Saturday with my friend Walt Vieria DJing to a full house. It was fantastic to see so many people, and I especially loved seeing avis gathered on Scottius Polke’s ‘Eden Oxide’ island, riding the elephants and dancing about.

Kiana Writer, Naxos Loon, and Quan Lavender try to protect their beers from Scottius Polke’s stompy rustyphants.

There was also the most amazing selection of avatars and avatar fashion there. I was particularly taken with Eupalinos Ugajin’s ensemble, which had an Alexander McQueen carnivalesque about it. But the one that really lept out at me – literally – was this fantastic ‘micro’ gecko, made and modelled by Thrice Skyward (yes, there were car insurance jokes):

Mesh Gecko by Thrice Skyward. Perhaps he’ll next make a meerkat for the British crowd.

On Sunday, we were treated to the styling of Skye Galaxy, for whom we built a centre sim stage. He always seems to read my mind with what I want to hear, and this set was no exception.

A crowd enjoys Skye at the piano.

It was a lovely weekend. Thank you to everyone who has given kind words and so much support. I feel incredibly fortunate to be part of such a wonderful community.

Please see more pictures of the exhibit and the events at PJ Trenton’s flickr stream.

6 comments on “A Further Development

  1. jayjay zif
    May 17, 2012

    Great work Rowan! keep it up

  2. Vaneeesa Blaylock
    May 17, 2012

    Oh wow Rowan, so sorry to hear about the LEA problems and, no doubt, the stress of your decision. I’ve heard grumblings, mostly revolving around everyone’s favorite Art/Bomber, but IDK the issues went deeper. I actually did a “walk thru LEA” a while back:
    http://vaneeesa.com/category/vaneeesa/365-days/

    it was really nice to see the work and to have the sizable archipelago to journey across.

    Anyway, sorry to hear, but it is useful to have things not fit from time to time, so that when something does fit… be it an organization, a relationship, or a pair of jeans, you can remember just how special that fit is.

    As for the exhibition, congratulations to you and to all the artists. It’s a compelling space. And Haveit’s video is a nice document of the work and installation.

  3. Quan Lavender
    May 17, 2012

    Yes, “A Rusted Developement” ist a huge succes. I brought some friends and they have been excited by the environement, the art and all the smart ideas in the exhibition. Concratulations especially to Haveit and you!

    But to hear theat you resigned makes me sad. I am loosing right know a lot of hope about the LEA project.

    • Rowan Derryth
      May 17, 2012

      Thanks Quan!

      Don’t lose hope… they have done some amazingly good work. And it is obvious that people on both sides (outside and inside) care. I am grateful that I had the time to see it from the inside, to see what works, and what doesn’t. And I’ve come to realise that any real help I can offer is definitely from the outside in this case.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2012 by in Art, LEA.
