I Derryth

Rowan Derryth's Virtual Adventures

Do You Mesh?

Relaxing in a stretchy mesh dress from JANE. Photo by PJ Trenton.

Apparently, I’m plump.

Now, I always knew I was curvy compared to most female avatars, and this is of course on purpose, since I designed my own shape. Rather than complain about content creators penchant for designing clothes for stick-thin women, I’ve always enjoyed the fact that I usually have to spend some time making my skirts fit properly over my hips and bum; and that some tops I simply can’t wear with my voluptuous chest. As well, I’ve been rather fascinated at what this says about our larger conceptions of female beauty.

The advent of mesh, which I’m sure is NOT news to the majority of readers, has blown this body issue wide open. Vaki Zenovka has written a great post about this, and as well, Strawberry Singh has made a fantastic comprehensive post of links on what mesh is, where to see it, and how you can get it. I don’t want to rehash that here, but rather give you my take on mesh fashion from the perspective of a larger-than-average avatar (shorter too), for what it’s worth. To do that, you get to see me in various states of undress!

So, take a look at my body (you know you want to). As you can see, I don’t have a particularly small waist like many with large curves, and my sliders are set to 10% body fat, which seems to be incredibly high for the average avatar. From the side, my belly is flat, but not concave, and if you could, there would be some flesh to pinch. I’ve no gap between my thighs, and my shoulders are quite boxy. This last is the ‘one thing I hate about my body’, which I have deliberately kept to add an element of realism both to my look and to my virtual psyche. Besides, I think shoulder joints are one of the flaws of avatar construction, and smallish ones look odd to me. I get lots of compliments for looking ‘real’, although my skin isn’t hyper-real (it is from Redgrave, btw, and I’ve had it since my first month and can’t imagine wearing something else). In fact, I only switch shapes and skins for ‘play’, like fancy dress parties, wearing a different shaped avi for fun; otherwise, I’m pretty committed to Rowan.

Right, now on to mesh. First, the very basics – you have to have the right viewer to see it (see Strawberry Singh’s post for the latest). Otherwise it looks like the image at right. So this is the first problem – if you care what you look like to the diehards who won’t give up viewer 1, then you can’t do mesh. Likewise, if you are one of the diehards, more and more people will look like this. Time to switch, my friends.

Now, as a friend of the devilishly creative Maxwell Graf of Rustica, I was treated to a sample of his mesh purse from his new BITCH line of clothing, which he had ready to go the moment mesh went live. Now, I wasn’t alone in receiving this, many of his female friends were squeeing over their fantastic new bags (even those who don’t ever wear them). The first sample is a cleverly done handbag which shows the influence of classic Louis Vuitton, but in fact with the skulls & crosses it is more Alexander McQueen, and ALL Max Graf, (and I like it better). The bags truly are gorgeous, and it prompted me to conceive of a marketing campaign for him: “Bitch Bags: Why wear anything else?”

Heh, he liked it. I told Max he was ‘the mesh pusher’, as he was tempting us with one so we’d come buy the others (I did indeed go buy his houndstooth version!).But he is also the mesh pusher in that he has been the voice of it all over the web, proselytising its merits and being frank on its foibles, including the making of a JIRA which I am very much in support of, especially as a curvy girl. Or, rather, plump. Let me explain.

Me and my lusciously plump thighs.

Last night I decided to try some mesh demos, and I’d heard some good things about the ones at JANE by Janie Marlowe. I’ll jump to the happy ending: after an incredulous start, I went back to the store and bought three things. But here is basically what happened.

Mesh clothes come in different sizes, because you cannot resize mesh. This is the big problem for mesh clothing, and, in a nutshell, what Max’s JIRA is about. It is possible, but SL has not yet implemented the tools. Many creators are doing the whole sm med lg thing, but for most of her clothes, Janie offers four sizes: petite, fair, luscious, and plump. Now I went straight to luscious, both liking the sound of it and figuring thats where I would fall. To the right, you see the result.

Now I should disclose that these are reconstructions, and that the first thing I tried on was a hoodie, and the result was much more scandalous. So I opted for plump, and while it fit much better, my curvy bits were still poking through. So, according to Janie, I’m one step beyond ‘plump’, a size I suppose she was too polite to name (or make).

I’m really not having a go at Janie here – as I said, in the end I bought some pieces (which you see in these pictures) because I finally figured out how it works (keep reading). But I do find these sizes a fascinating symptom of the average avatar body. Rowan is plump? Well, I’m ok with that, but look at her in the bikini pics again. If that is plump, BRING IT.

So it was only after trying on several pieces that I clued in to the fact that there was, in fact, and alpha texture in each folder, and then I remember from chatting with Max that this was how the body size issue was being dealt with.

I was resistant at first – I want clothes to fit me, not me to fit clothes. But if I’m happy to hide my feet to make my flip flops work, why am I not ok with doing that for my hips to wear these incredibly cute clothes (and I adore these trousers, btw, I want them for real). Fine, I put on the alpha texture. Miracle of miracles! The pants hug my curves, and really, although there is obviously some ‘trimming’, I am still pretty close to my curvy shape.

I had equally funny, then successful, results with the maxi skirt. Not exactly the look I was going for at first. But again, the alpha hides my J.Lo bum (in some ways, a shame), and still creates a lovely, sensuous curve. But what I really love is the way the skirt moves and stretches with me, and THIS is the awesome part about mesh.

The coolest thing about mesh, for me and many others, is the realism in movement. Your clothes – and their textures – move with you, whether you are walking, sitting, jumping, dancing, or turning cartwheels. No longer will your flexis fall through the furniture, your clothes bend with your body as they should. For this final test, I chose to cuddle up on my new Margaret Outdoor Bed by Isla Gealach of Cheeky Pea, wearing the JANE striped Maxi Dress. But first, the foibles of the dress sans alpha, because I again want to make the point about body size, and also, it’s kind of funny. The first picture shows the luscious size, and the second, plump, which oddly while it fit better, you can see it had even worse issues in certain areas. In the end, I settled on the plump version, because I thought I looked too thin in the luscious. The girls certainly are smaller in this, but the horizontal stripe helps with that.

But I was amazed when I sat tucked up on the day bed, and this is really what sold me. Seeing how it moved and stretched with me is simply cool. So I decided that, despite labelling me plump, I’d go over and throw a few lindens Janie’s way. And unlike getting the latest tech in RL, many of these items are going quite cheap – for now! Max just made some awesome geek-chic glasses that he is selling for just $1L! I think we need to support these early adopters, because what they are making is fantastic, and they are paving the way for what will be the future of SL.

However, please do also go and vote for Max’s JIRA, as being able to wear clothes that fit our body – and not the other way around – is an important part of avatar identity (something I’m not quite sure Linden Labs have their head around). Meanwhile, I’ll run around in my fabulous new clothes, and hope that people have the proper viewers to see me do it. And embrace being fabulously, fashionably, lusciously plump.

**

UPDATE: Further to my conclusion that MAXWELL GRAF is a mesh pusher, he sadly came out last night to admit he is a mesh addict! His cautionary tale can be read here.

 

Special thanks to PJ Trenton for suffering through the photoshoot.

Additional designer credits:

Hair – Truth Hawks for Truth Hair

Glasses – Koguma Kumaki for Kumaki 

Shirt – by OMGWTF Barbecue for This is a Fawn

Bikini – Lani Long for BOOM Clothing

Flip-flops – Onyx LeShelle for Maitreya Gold

Bare Feet – Siddean Munro for Slink

Margaret Outdoor Day Bed – Isla Gealach for Cheeky Pea

15 comments on “Do You Mesh?

  1. Vaki
    August 30, 2011

    Well, I think your shape is fantastic…and actually, 10% body fat is exactly the average for female avatars — at least the avatars who are likely to be the first to try mesh (http://insertfunnyname.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/going-beyond-average-female/). So I’d say your curves aren’t the problem; the problem is (well, are) the inherent limitations of mesh and the struggle of mesh designers to create options that suit their consumer base within those limitations.

    Those bags are pretty hot, though.

    • Rowan Derryth
      August 30, 2011

      Oh, thanks Vaki! My data there was not scientific, but observational. I am often the… hmm… largest (but not necessarily the tallest) girl in the room, and although I never did the ‘What’s Your Digits’ thing (I just never had time), I remember looking at the pics and being struck by how many had body fat 5 and under. Maybe I’ll go do one of those just for fun now, and compare it to your average post as a follow-up.

      I think Max has the right idea of focusing on accessories for now. I DID tell him though that he needs to make them scripted so holding overrides the AO, and I know he’s working on that!

    • Rowan Derryth
      August 31, 2011

      Ok, so I went and compared my digits, and yes, I am in fact in the ballpark of many of those numbers, but did find a few big differences. At 57, I have shorter arms, but MUCH bigger hands than average at 42 (thanks for the ‘man hands’ crack, PJ). They’ve never looked that big to me, but now I’ll probably notice.

      But I was wrong in the body fat making me large. It is three other aspects where I’ve got a significant difference: breast size is 65 (average 49), hip width is 60 (average 54) and my body thickness is the biggest difference – the average is 22, while mine is 55! That is where I seem so much larger – or other women seem stick-like, next to me.

  2. Ceejay Writer
    August 30, 2011

    I haven’t yet had a chance to experiment with mesh clothing, though I do have two outfits from Curious Kitties (they had them out for free!) so I hope to experiment soon.

    I may change my thoughts on this later, but right now I’m thinking that mesh clothing will be just one of many options in my wardrobe. I’ll always be partial to my primmy and flexy victorian and goth dresses but they are HORRIBLE to sit down in. I’ve dreamed of clothing that will look good while seated… or when legs are dancing, bent or in a wide stance. From your pics, it looks like mesh has the upper hand there!

    Another thought… while I do not intend to distort my avatar to suit mesh, I have done a bit of a ‘cheat’ on that in the past. System skirts are notorious for making butts look fat, but they also sit gracefully in chairs. So I have a ‘buttless’ version of my shape I can slap on when I really need to not have a prim skirt falling through a couch. I may adopt this thinking to mesh. As I experiment, I’m sure I’ll figure out ways to enjoy mesh clothing along with my prim and system items, too.

    • Rowan Derryth
      August 30, 2011

      Agreed, I have plenty of cute things I love made from prims, and some designers got WONDERFULLY good with working with them (LeeZu does the most amazing creative things with sculpties, and Azul makes slim skirts on evening gowns from pants and flexis that I love). And I also have a ‘buttless’ shape for the system skirt, took me a while to figure that one out! But it makes me look as I normally do, so like you I’ve felt ok about that cheat too!

  3. Pingback: Rumblings About Mesh | Entertainment Blogs

  4. Tatum Lisle
    September 10, 2011

    Awesome post, Derryth, thanks! I do think, just like anyone in the fashion world, SL designers have a responsibility to think carefully about the norms they might be perpetuating, especially when it comes to body image. Less value-laden size labeling seems a sensible way to go, but ideally, I guess the Lab will address the “body clipping” issues essentially seem to be the cause of this problem.

  5. Tatum Lisle
    September 10, 2011

    Sorry – your name is Rowan.. *face palm*. I’m easily confused

  6. melissa999
    September 10, 2011

    BTW, the JIRA entry. after accumulating 470+ votes in a few days. was moved, according to things I’ve read, moved to a Linden internal JIRA. If you try to get to it now you’ll see a “permission violation” page because it’s not there any more. I hope the move means it’s being worked on.

    • Rowan Derryth
      September 10, 2011

      Yes, it is! Thanks for commenting, I’ve been meaning to update that.

  7. Pingback: Kannonji Foggy Morning « Tate's Gallery

  8. Pingback: Wollt ihr bessere Meshkleidung? Stimmt für Jira SH-2374! » Bart in SL

  9. Pingback: Meshed Up Decision by Linden Labs « Prim Perfect

  10. Pingback: Can We Mesh Better in Second Life? | Ashes To Ashes, Sale To Sale

  11. Pingback: SecondLife e gli abiti mesh: cosa manca per indossarle: finanziamo un progetto di Qarl ex-linden su IndieGoGo « VIRTUAL WORLDS MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 30, 2011 by in SL Technicals.
